|
These databases can help you locate publications,
citations, documents, proceedings of relevant meetings by various
organizations. The information is downloadable depending on some
rights of the databases concerned. Most of the databases listed
here are protected by copyright rules and thus require passwords
and user names for access. In such an occurrence get in touch with
the Librarian to get the
required information.
* Limited to UN Staff, requires User Id and Password or its IP controlled
- Dawson:
*
Offers Dawson customers a comprehensive acquisition tool for bibliographic
research, ordering, and financial management.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
(DOAJ)
Researchers can now search online for more than 46,000 articles
published in open access scientific journals, thanks to the launch
of the second phase of the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
It now gives access to more than 1,100 open access journals, 270
of which are searchable by article.
- EBSCO, Environment Complete :*
Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- Economist
Intelligence Unit:*
Provides economic and political analysis and forecasts for over
200 countries e.g. Country reports, Country Risk Service, Country
Forecast and many others.
- Encyclopaedia Brittanica:*
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition brings together the world-renowned content of the
encyclopedia, with the speed and convenience of the Internet. To help you use the site more effectively, we’ve
created this short tour. It will guide you from the home page through a search results page and finally to an
article page. In addition, it will highlight some of the additional features of the site, including World Data,
Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics.
- Encyclopaedia Universalis:*
The entire Encyclopaedia Universalis is available online. A powerful and intelligent search engine provides access to more than 33,000 articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems of our times; 17,000 media items; a world atlas with over 700 maps; an integrated dictionary with 120,000 entries; and a guide to selected Web sites. This is the most comprehensive encyclopedia in the French language all with the speed and convenience of the Internet.
- Facts on File:*
Provides information on events , issues, statistics and people
of the last 60 years
-
Fishbase
The purpose of this page is to give you background information
on FishBase, a global information system with all you ever wanted
to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with
information to cater to different professionals such as research
scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
- Lexis Nexis:*
An online database featuring news, legal journals and law reviews
on a large range of topics including environmental reviews.
- MBS
Online:*
This Internet database presents current monthly economic statistics
for most of the countries and areas of the world.
-
Millennium Indicators
Database
Provides 48 indicators to measure progress towards the achievement
of the millennium development goals. The data are available
by country or by series.
- Nature Online*
Provides access to Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews,
NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide
the world's premier information resource for the basic biological
and physical sciences.
- Oxford
Analytica *
Oxford Analytica is an international consulting firm which provides
business and political leaders with timely analysis of worldwide
political, economic and social developments.
- PLoS:
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
- Proquest: *
Provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers,
containing full-text articles from 1986.
- Science
Direct:*
It is one of the world's best resources for research journals,
abstract databases and reference works. It forms an essential
information resource for millions of scientists around the world.
Through it one can create email alerts, notifications for updates
in the area of interest.
- Scirus:*
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine
on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology,
Scirus searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages, enabling
you to quickly:
- Pinpoint scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data
on the Web.
- Find the latest reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents,
pre prints and journals that other search engines miss.
- Offer unique functionalities designed for scientists and
researchers.
- Sybworld*
A reference tool where you can get information about world politics,
economics, culture and society.
- UN Official
Documents System: *
Helps you do online full text search and retrieval of all UN documents.
- Yearbook of International Organisations
Includes all data published in the printed Yearbook of International Organizations (Volumes 1A, 1B, 2, 3, and 4), Who's Who in International Organizations, and the whole Encyclopedia: World Problems, Strategies, Human Development, Human Values, etc.
|